December 15, 2004

For immediate release: Ottawa, December 15, 2005

José Aggrey has been elected President of the Canadian Association of Professional Employees (CAPE). With 46.6% of valid ballots, Mr. Aggrey has been chosen by CAPE’s membership to lead the young organization into the next two years of ever-evolving labour relations in the federal public and parliamentary services.

Mr. Aggrey is a Senior Economist, who works currently at Health Canada. Mr. Aggrey has been actively involved in union work for fifteen years. He was Vice –President of the Social Science Employees Association prior to the merger that resulted in the creation of CAPE. He has held the office of EC-LoP Vice-President during the transition period of the merger.

“I’m honoured by the membership’s confidence and wish to thank my supporters,” commented Mr. Aggrey. “CAPE is the result of the history and strengths of its three communities, the TR community, the EC community and our members at the Library of Parliament. I commit myself to lead the association in its tradition of professional advocacy and democratic principles.”

Mr. Aggrey replaces Bill Krause, who is retiring after thirteen years as President of ESSA, SSEA and CAPE.

A new EC-LoP Vice-President has also been elected. Derek Brackley, a longtime steward and local executive member of SSEA and then CAPE received the support of 62.3% of valid ballots.

CAPE members were also asked to approve the budget proposed by the National Executive Committee for fiscal years 2004-2005 and 2005-2006. The budget was approved by 80% of voting members. The Association’s financial statements were accepted by 97% of members, while the appointment of Tom Foran as Auditor for the next fiscal year was approved by 93% of members.

The Canadian Association of Professional Employees is the bargaining agent representing 10,000 Economists, Translators, Interpreters, Terminologists and Social Science Support employees of the federal public service, as well as over 70 Analysts and Research Assistants at the Library of Parliament.

— 30 —